The UK announces £10 entry fee for travellers

In recent travel news, entry fees have become a hot topic, with various countries implementing charges for electronic travel authorization. The United States has had its $21 ESTA program since 2009, and now the United Kingdom and the European Union are joining the bandwagon with their own entry fees.

UK Implements Entry Fee for Travelers Visa waiver programs have become commonplace in international travel. The United States introduced the ESTA, a $21 fee for a two-year authorization, while Europe is preparing to launch the ETIAS at a cost of 7 euros (around $7.50). The ETIAS will provide a three-year authorization for travelers visiting European countries.

Now, the United Kingdom, which departed from the EU a few years ago, has announced its own entry fee program called the ETA (Electronic Travel Authorisation).

For a period of two years, travellers, including US and EU nationals, will be required to pay £10 (approximately $12.50).

While the fee may seem modest, it’s worth noting that access to the historical wonders of the Tower of London and Edinburgh Castle will now come at a higher cost than a pass to iconic sites like the Eiffel Tower, the Colosseum, the Sagrada Familia, and the Acropolis combined.

The UK plans to implement the ETA program for visa-exempt travellers by the end of 2024, with Qatar being the first nation to join the scheme later this year.

As travel evolves, entry fees are becoming increasingly common, with the United Kingdom joining the list of countries implementing charges for electronic travel authorisation.